About Lead Like a Lady


Lead Like a Lady was founded to inspire leadership development and mentorship for young women who have the desire to better themselves personally and professionally. Our four key founders, Andrea Jansa, Jaimie Miller-Ackley, Megan Ruble and Sunni Swarbrick came together with a passion for growing the collective impact of young women who were quickly becoming leaders in their industry in Greater Des Moines. Today this passion has grown into an organization of more than 40 dues paying, active members who are leaders not only in their professional roles, but also in their community.

Lead Like a Lady’s mission is to connect women through support and development to become a community of empowered and engaged leaders.

Our vision is to become a group of lifelong, female leaders who will make a lasting impact on our community as we grow throughout our lives.

Our values are:
—Integrity (respect, confidentiality, and trust of all members)
—Personal & Professional Growth
—Membership Engagement


Lead Like a Lady does limit our event activities to current, dues paying members and our guests. This request ensures that we have diversity in our membership and a sense of intimacy to allow for increased mentorship and development opportunities for our members.

If you are interested in learning more about Lead Like a Lady or want to be added to our recruitment list, please fill out our membership inquiry form.

The Founders

Andrea Woodard

Director of Public Policy
Greater Des Moines Parternship

Jaimie Miller

Executive Director
Iowa Credit Union Foundation

Megan Ruble

Senior Account Manager
Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield

Sunni Swarbrick

Executive Director
Story County Community Foundation

Lead Like a Lady EXECUTIVE leadership TEAM

  • Maggie Gilsan- President
  • Addie Rasmusson- President-Elect
  • Colleen Wittmack- Secretary
  • Jenny Smith- Treasurer
  • Jenna Knox- Past President

committee leadership

Communications Committee

  • Chair: Christa Phillips

Governance Committee

  • Chair: Katie Patterson

Membership Committee

  • Chair: Jeanine Buckingham
  • Chair: Lauren Patrick

Events & speakers committee

  • Chair: Kristin Kuykendall